Friday, June 13, 2014

Review & Giveaway: Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore

Author: Jaclyn Dolamore
Title: Dark Metropolis
Series: Dark Metropolis #1
Publication: June 17, 2014
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
Source: Publisher via Netgalley
About the Book
Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.

Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder's mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.

Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they're not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.
Thea had to drop out of school to work and care for her mother. He mother is getting worse and she's trying hard to keep her out of the governments clutches but one day she slips up and her world begins to change. She meets this strange boy, Freddy, who is a mystery and she senses something about him. He's drawn to her as well and as she continues to uncover what's really going on in her city, she realizing that something is different about him. Freddy has a secret of his own that will shake them both especially when he learns the truth about himself and why his life isn't truly his own. As they get closer to revealing everything, they will find themselves wrapped in a conspiracy even more horrid than they could ever imagine. I think this is an interesting story and  the pace was steady. I liked the characters but Nan was my favorite, she's so mysterious and I found her story line intriguing. Overall, anyone interested in zombies or necromancy may find this a good light read. 


Excerpt
"Mother, please, it's shining right on my face...." Mother stood at the open window, watching the birds. She liked the birds, she always had, and when Thea was a little girl Mother used to take her bird watching. They would stay with Mother's old friends in the country for two weeks during summer and hike in the woods. "There is a waxwing," she might say in a whisper-voice near Thea's ear while pointing.

Now Thea didn't even like Mother to put an arm around her. Her bound-sickness would bleed out, and Thea would know what her mother was thinking-always, always about Father: Where is he? I can still feel him. He can't be dead. But why can't I find him? On and on.

But Father was dead. He had to be dead. Surely he would have found them by now if he were alive, even if he had to fight his way out of a foreign prison or overcome amnesia or any of the other scenarios she'd envisioned. The binding spell would call him home. 
About the Author
Jaclyn Dolamore was homeschooled in a hippie sort of way and spent her childhood reading as many books as her skinny nerd-body could lug from the library and playing elaborate pretend games with her sister Kate. She skipped college and spent eight years drudging through retail jobs, developing her thrifty cooking skills and pursuing a lifelong writing dream. She has a passion for history, thrift stores, vintage dresses, David Bowie, drawing, and organic food. She lives with her partner and plot-sounding-board, Dade, and two black tabbies who have ruined her carpeting.
WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK

a Rafflecopter giveaway

2 comments:

  1. I'm quite excited about this one! Thanks for the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...